navigate:

last
next
archives
newest
profile

contact:

guestbook
notes
email


3 comments so far


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Come See Me - 2008-07-12

Water In The Trash? - 2005-04-25

Let Me Introduce You to Sally - 2005-03-28

I'm A Calendar Dyslexic - 2004-09-27

So, How's Your Life Going? - 2004-09-21

::Syntax Error::
2003-05-06 @ 6:49 p.m.

Many science shows compare the human brain to a computer.

I think most people have the deluxe model complete with a Pentium 4 (or 5, depending on the fastest model out there) processor, plenty of RAM to process new information, and a 20 gigabyte hard drive. Mine is more like the old Radio Shack models from the early 80's with a faulty file directory system and one memory chip, completely filled.

If my memory chip was filled with something useful, let's say how to do simple addition, then maybe it wouldn't be an issue. Instead, my brain is filled with useless pop culture crap that has no use in the real world. I swear, friends have called me long distance for conversations like this one:

Friend: "Hey, what was the name of that woman, you know, the mouthy waitress?"

Me: "Are you talking about Polly Holliday from Alice?"

Friend: "Yeah, that's her. I KNEW you would know."

That my brain is a malfunctioning "computer" that no amount of rebooting is going to help was readily apparent today. I've been attending a state conference on aging and was at a legislative update. This is information that is critical to my job and, therefore, should be remembered. My brain, realizing that my one memory chip was full and desperate to do something, started happily singing "The Facts of Life" theme song.

Speaker: Senate Bill 726....

My Brain: You take the good

Speaker: Medicare is....

My Brain: You take the bad

Speaker: Prescription medications...

My Brain: You take them both and there you have

Speaker: Our grandparents raising grandchildren...

My Brain: The Facts of Life; The Facts of Liiiiiiife

I really need an upgrade.

image by image cafe, modifications and design by poodesigns