navigate:

last
next
archives
newest
profile

contact:

guestbook
notes
email


0 comments so far


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Come See Me - 2008-07-12

Water In The Trash? - 2005-04-25

Let Me Introduce You to Sally - 2005-03-28

I'm A Calendar Dyslexic - 2004-09-27

So, How's Your Life Going? - 2004-09-21

Give That Girl a 10
2004-08-17 @ 8:38 a.m.

Forget about the upcoming presidential election, I'm all about the Olympics right now.

I can't even wrap my brain around what these people are able to do. I could never be a high-level athlete. From puking every minute to stopping competition every two minutes so I could go to the bathroom from nerves, I don't think I would be in medal contention.

Never mind the fact I can't seem to tell my left from my right ("go to your left, Muse. Okay, now go to your other left.") and my gross motor skills are sadly lacking. People used to argue over who's team had to take me. Plus, just now one of my coworkers brought me my purse, which she found on the roof of my car, so apparently I don't have that "focus thing" in my favor either.

The ages of the athletes always blow me away. Michael Phelps, the swimmer going for eight medals, is nineteen. NINETEEN! Look, I partied so much I don't even remember nineteen. Those little girl gymnasts...fifteen, y'all. At fifteen, I figured out that if I took drama and band, I wouldn't have to be in gym anymore.

I don't watch a lot of sports, but for these next couple of weeks I become an expert on all things from tae kwon do to badminton. I start rating everything from entrances into the water to dismounts from the pommel horse. A perfect example is synchronized diving. My first reaction was, "What?" But, after a full minute of watching, I was like "oh, the girl on the right entered the water WAY before the girl on the left. The judges are SO gonna deduct for that."

The sacrifices these kids make for those few seconds are incredible. There was an interview with an American gymnast who described how expensive training is and went for a full week eating only Power Bars because she couldn't afford food from the training costs. Understand, in my world, ANYTHING that keeps me away from complete meals plus snacks would be immediately cut out of my life.

So, hope everyone is enjoying the Olympics. Please be amazed and in awe of the sacrifices all of these kids have made to be there. Be as happy for a fifth place finish that was that athlete's personal best as you are for a gold medal performance. Plus, I think the men's team has a good shot at a medal in badminton.

image by image cafe, modifications and design by poodesigns