navigate:

last
next
archives
newest
profile

contact:

guestbook
notes
email


3 comments so far


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Come See Me - 2008-07-12

Water In The Trash? - 2005-04-25

Let Me Introduce You to Sally - 2005-03-28

I'm A Calendar Dyslexic - 2004-09-27

So, How's Your Life Going? - 2004-09-21

A Different Kind of Date
2004-01-11 @ 8:39 p.m.

So, to follow up with the somewhat cryptic message from my last entry...

Anyone here hear of speed dating?

How it works is that you buy a ticket to attend an event that has an equal number of single men and women. The women get to sit at their own table and are assigned a number. The men move from table to table, talk to each woman, and are also assigned a number. You're given five minutes to talk, a whistle is blown, and then you're talking to the next lucky bachelor. After the event, you go to the website for speed matching, enter the numbers of the bachelors you would like to see again, and, if they've entered your number, it's a match.

I had seen it on TV and found out Oklahoma City was having its first event at an upscale wine bar/bistro. I clicked on the Purchase Ticket button before I could chicken out since doing something like this is so far out of my comfort zone. Then, I had a full week to ponder "holy shit, what have I done?!?!?!" I had two big fears: 1) that all the chicks would be hot and I would be the comic relief, or 2) that every guy there would be a pathetic loser.

The event happened Tuesday night and, as my last entry pointed out, I hadn't slept the three nights before. The lack of sleep actually worked in my favor, as I was too ridiculously tired to be nervous.

Well, my fears were unfounded. The girls there were average chicks like me. And, I have to admit, I didn't meet one loser in the bunch of men I met (although one guy did look like he had rolled around in Man-Tan like a dog in shit...he also said he hated books and, as a previous entry of mine pointed out, I pretty much have a library in my apartment). All were nice guys, stable jobs, and pretty easy to talk to (and for my younger readers who think the previous sentence sounds boring, just remember, I've been in the dating pool for thirty-six years...these things become important). I ended up having a terrific time, not only meeting the guys, but also getting a chance to talk to some really fun females. So, I met eight guys, made my notes, and entered my information on the website as to which bachelors I would like to see again.

There was one guy in particular that I really wanted to see again. He was absolutely hilarious and, when the whistle blew, we were both like "there is no way that was five minutes." After the event itself was over, all the attendees were invited to stay, nosh on food and drink, and visit some more. So he and I talked quite a bit more and I was still intrigued. After I put my numbers in the site, his number came up as a match for me. So, for right now, he and I have exchanged a few emails and we'll see.

What's funny is I could care less if this actually works out or not. He seems like a great guy, but, for me, it was just nice to get out of my comfort zone and do something completely out of character for me. And, I would probably do it again. It was quite a boost to the ego to have eight different guys sitting at your table in one night and all be interested in listening to you. So, all in all, an incredibly fun evening and would recommend it to all those single gals out there looking for a different kind of way to meet men. I found out about it through www.speedmatching.com. Oklahoma City is supposed to have more events like this and I may check them out.

Besides, if no of these work out, I'll always have Bud, my plastic boyfriend.

image by image cafe, modifications and design by poodesigns