navigate:

last
next
archives
newest
profile

contact:

guestbook
notes
email


3 comments so far


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Come See Me - 2008-07-12

Water In The Trash? - 2005-04-25

Let Me Introduce You to Sally - 2005-03-28

I'm A Calendar Dyslexic - 2004-09-27

So, How's Your Life Going? - 2004-09-21

Please Let Me Sleep
2004-01-08 @ 2:53 p.m.

For those that are curious, not having water in your house/apartment sucks.

On Saturday morning, there's a knock at the door. It's my landlady's (who's also my friend's mom) son there to inform me that one of the water pipes in the dining room wall of her house burst and the water has to be shut off until the plumbers can fix it. The plumbers couldn't come until Monday and there was no guarantee as to how long it would take. Since my water comes from her water pipes, well it was hotel time. This was actually a pretty cool thing; I would get to stay in a really nice hotel on someone else's dime. Not a bad way to live. My friend's mom was going to stay with me. Again, on the surface, not a bad thing; I really like her and wasn't too worried about us sharing a room for a few days.

Now I thought I had, growing up, encountered the world's loudest snorer, aka my dad. Ummm...that would be a resounding "NO!" After spending Saturday, Sunday, and Monday nights with this woman, my dad's snoring sounded like a kitten purring compared to the blasts that came from this woman's nasal passages. I honestly thought something was medically wrong with her because it was so loud. Imagine, if you will, a cannon going off in the seat next to you while sitting in the Astrodome. You're getting warm.

I bought earplugs after the first night thinking myself smarter than the average bear. They had absolutely no effect at all. I'm sure they muffled the noise somewhat. But, when the noise is that loud, "muffling somewhat" is akin to turning "down" the stereo from 25 to 24. So, basically I didn't sleep for three straight nights. She, on the other hand, slept like a dream. And, it didn't matter what position she laid in, on her side, on her back, propped up...absolutely no effect on the snoring capability she possessed. If there's ever an Olympic event for this sort of thing, we'll send her and America's got the gold in the bag.

So, my lack of sleep had the potential to interfere with some great Tuesday night plans, which I'll write about in a later entry. I'm still waiting for a few more details (plus, I can't wait to see the comments on this entry...You guys had me cracking up over the burial plot comments. Sunshine Tony: I hadn't put it all together like that before and now I'm in fear for my life. And sock-girlie: Nope, from what you've said, the shawl beats out the burial plot anytime. At least I'll use the burial plot at some point).

But, as a hint...remember how sock-girlie, just--jenn, and I formed our girl group a couple of months ago? Remember their exciting entries of Atlanta Falcons players and work men eye-candy? Remember my only pathetic contributions were a flirting trucker and Wesley, the happy waiter from Denny's? Well, the Muse has decided that 2004 will be different.

So there!

image by image cafe, modifications and design by poodesigns