navigate:

last
next
archives
newest
profile

contact:

guestbook
notes
email


1 comments so far


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Come See Me - 2008-07-12

Water In The Trash? - 2005-04-25

Let Me Introduce You to Sally - 2005-03-28

I'm A Calendar Dyslexic - 2004-09-27

So, How's Your Life Going? - 2004-09-21

A Hospital Ode to Sock-Girlie
2003-10-15 @ 8:37 p.m.

My girl, sock-girlie, posted this entry regarding a recent hospital visit for an upper GI test. As she explained, you drink this horrific cocktail of barium and then they take X-rays of this traveling through your digestive system. Of course, one of the technicians that helped her was HOT (and I've decided that I'm so moving to her place just to get her cast-offs...either that or I'm moving to just--jenn's hangout so I can also have professional football players flirting with me. So far, my contribution to our little girl group has been Wesley from Denny's and a toothless truck driver trying to flirt with me at a stop light. But, I digress...)

Anyway, back to my hospital story...not only did I have to have an upper GI but also a lower one. Now, as sock-girlie explained, you drink the barium to get it into your system for your upper GI tract. Consider, for a moment, how you would get the barium into your lower GI tract. Let's just say it's an enema-type process and that I'm now well-equipped to be a prisoner-of-war. Let's also just say that this was not the time of the month to be messing with that part of my body, either.

I was a senior in high school during this procedure. Unlike sock-girlie, the man who took me to the room to do this procedure was not a hottie. Also, unlike sock-girlie's experience, my non-hottie was also vaguely familiar. I couldn't quite put my finger on how I knew him but, lucky for me, he soon recognized me and put into context how we knew each other.

He was my substitute high school drama teacher.

That's right. The man who was inserting a probe into my "lower" region, was also the man who felt the need during this procedure to ask about how my class was going, how he hoped he could sub again (I was hoping the earth would just swallow us both up at this point), and just the general chit-chat of old friends.

If I hadn't been sick before, I was then.

image by image cafe, modifications and design by poodesigns