navigate:

last
next
archives
newest
profile

contact:

guestbook
notes
email


3 comments so far


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Come See Me - 2008-07-12

Water In The Trash? - 2005-04-25

Let Me Introduce You to Sally - 2005-03-28

I'm A Calendar Dyslexic - 2004-09-27

So, How's Your Life Going? - 2004-09-21

The Junkie Has Gotten Her Fix
2003-05-22 @ 9:05 p.m.

My phone line is connected at my new apartment and I'm back online.

I was like an addict going through withdrawal these past few days. My Internet addiction started innocently enough. "I can do research easier if I have the Internet." And, for the first two weeks, I did just that. Serious research of all things school-related. But then, other topics started worming their way onto my computer screen. If I could research Greek Mythology for my Classical Humanities class, I could just as easily research quotes from my favorite TV shows. Information about obscure actors, music groups and their song lists, shopping at the click of the mouse key; it was all there. Now my Favorites file is full of entertainment pages, fanfiction, and web diaries/journals. To think, I had such noble beginnings...

I tried to reduce my discomfort by surreptitiously checking the 'net at work. But, inanimate object karma got me again and our Internet service went down. Man, I was really "jonesing" for some 'net action. "I can't update my diary!" I cried. "What about my 'buddies' and their updates?!" I broke out into a cold sweat, my hands started to tremble, and my right index finger kept clicking an imaginary mouse key.

Tomorrow, I'm going to check the Betty Ford Center (online, of course) to see if they have a program for this type of addiction. "Hi, I'm randommuse and I'm an Internet addict."

image by image cafe, modifications and design by poodesigns